Skip to content

UC Davis

June 15, 2010

I went to UC Davis for a behavorial appointment, I met Shadow and Mark there.  We saw Dr. Bain and it was the first day of summer summester so it was a bit crazy in the clinic and Shadow was acting a bit crazy too.  I was okay with him acting out, better that than him acting like an angel.

The meeting today really made me think and I realized it was more for me than for him.  It was eye opening, the doctors were concernced if I was doing it for the right reasons and if i knew what i was getting myself into.  After talking long with Mark and both the students and Dr. Bain I realized that I was prepared for long road ahead.

Since Shadow has very nerotic tendancies, and he is very nervous most the time they suggested I try clicker training.  It will be just another tool in my tool box and i know I could use as many as possible especially when dealing with a dog like shadow.  He is a very alert dog and I think clicker training will work really well with him, something to pull his attention in when he starts to become nervous.

Of course my camera was dead and I couldn’t snap any pictures of him unfortunately.

The drive home was a little under 2 hours and it gave me a lot of time to think about what I had ahead of me and I think I’m ready for it.  I see hurdles up head as far as my living situation but i feel as though over time I will adjust and he will become part of the family.  I know there is someone out there that will see what I and others close to him see in him and someone that will fall in love with him and might want to adopt him, but I’m ready for it to be alot of work and it might take  a long time.

Please take a look at UC Davis’s behavorial program,  I think it is a great resource though expensive we are so lucky to have this fairly close to us.  They don’t use one set method, they deal with every dog on an individual basis.  For this program to work it is essential for the owners or people working with the dog to be committed and understand that the success of the dog is based on their commitment.  UC’s suggestions and assestment do no good if their prognosis is not handle or taken seriously.

http://www.vetmed.ucdavis.edu/vmth/small_animal/default.cfm#

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

