Skip to content

Sunny Hot Saturday in San Jose

June 14, 2010

Yesterday I went down to San Jose to visit and work with Shadow, it’s a new thing we are doing: volunteers and fosters homes get together.  We are meeting up at C.A.R.E. in San jose ever Saturday with some of our foster dogs.  We create a pack and it helps to address individual dog/foster home issues in a controlled envoinment.  It was really hot It even think the temperature

on the way home  hit 94 degrees

Shadow actually did really well, I think it has a lot to do with how tired he got from  just a small walk in the sun and it was a very hot day.  He does best in training when he is really worn out.  So before he can focus and listen to me he has to have a long walk.  I worked both with him on a prong collar and with a gentle leader, he does well on the prong collar but I can’t seem to get the quick little pinch pull correctiveness so I switched to the gentle leader.  He pulled alot on the first walk with the other 4 dogs than we went on a walk with but once I took him out for a few walks on our own he did a lot better.

I also to take a video of Shadow for UC Davis’s behavorialist to observe.  Though they didn’t come out as I hoped but good thinkgVal was there to help me.

Tomorrow I will hit the road and meet Shadow in Davis at 1pm to meet with Dr. Bain.  I’m excited and nervous to hear what they have to say.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

